Why am I blogging about Omega 3’s?


I am David Musgrave. About 20 years ago I was working as an Agricultural Scientist and the youngest of my four sons, Oliver, was 2 years old.

His older brother, Christopher, had a bad reaction to his 2 year old measles vaccination – he got bad eczema and became allergic to a whole lot of foods. By the time Oliver came along Christopher’s eczema had reduced, but it had transmuted into bad asthma, to the extent that he was hospitalised several times.

You would think that a reasonably intelligent person would connect the dots and say Christopher had a bad reaction to his measles vaccination – we won’t get Oliver immunized!

We did do a bit of reading; but information was not as freely available 21 years ago without the web! The pressure from our doctor to have Oliver vaccinated was pretty high – so he had his shot – very bad move. Within a week he had a severe case of measles and became allergic to a whole lot of common foods. The worst thing was that he started having really bad eczema, which meant he scratched himself to the point of bleeding day and night (more on Oliver’s story soon).

Fast forward two and a half years and many angst – filled sleepless nights later some-one gave us some Canadian flax seed oil and Oliver stopped scratching within days – what relief! (It may not be this fast for everyone! – it can take a couple of weeks.)

That was the beginning of my journey towards understanding as much as I could about Omega-3 fats and wellness.

Being a scientist I wanted to know how and why it worked. It also meant I had the skills to troll through the books on the subject and get into the medical literature. So over the last twenty years I have developed a deep understanding of the role of the Essential Fatty Acids (EFA’s) and many other factors involved in health and wellness.

This inspired me to start my own business in Geraldine – ‘Functional Whole Foods NZ Ltd’! manufacturing flax seed oil, and, if I say so myself, we make the best flax seed oil in the world – high in Omega-3 and great taste. Eighteen years later we are the Number One New Zealand brand and stock 860 stores, exporting to 6 countries and growing!

Over the years we have come across a lot of information in books and on web-sites / blogs / forums that is just plain wrong!! Science mis-quoted, skewed, or even ignored – old data, or misrepresentation of ALA as an effective Omega-3 fat.

For the last 22 years I have also been an organic farmer at Waihi Bush Organic Farm – a 120 hectare piece of paradise on the fertile Canterbury Plains (more on that later).

On a personal note, in 2009 I was fortunate enough to be selected to join 300 other people from the Asia/Pacific region to be trained by Al Gore and others to be a presenter about climate change. To talk to people in the community, to help them understand the issues, and make changes in their lives to live more sustainably. Governments cannot force the changes necessary – they have to come from the ground up.

So some of my passions in life which I will be blogging on, are:
• getting correct information out there on Omega-3 and
• balancing essential fatty acids for nutrition and wellness

Other passions such as Tango and other fun things, I will try and leave out of my blogs.

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy what I have to say!

David Musgrave

Check out the best oils at http://functionalwholefoods.co.nz/

2 Comments

Filed under How Omega-3's work

2 responses to “Why am I blogging about Omega 3’s?

  1. A great start David to what will be a great series of knowledge building blogs…tell the truth, create no myiths and let people decide to be well and healthly.

  2. Jackie

    Great start…….tell me more

Leave a Reply

